Ralph Gomory Prize

Ralph Gomory This prize, made possible by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, recognizes historical work on the effects of business enterprises on the economic conditions of the countries in which they operate. A prize of $5,000 is awarded annually for a book published in the two years prior to the year of the award. Book nominations are accepted from publishers. Four copies of each book must accompany a nomination and be submitted to the Prize Coordinator, Carol Ressler Lockman, Business History Conference, PO Box 3630, 298 Buck Road, Wilmington DE 19807-0630 USA. Email: clockman@hagley.org. The submission deadline is November 30. The Gomory Prize Committee shall consist of three members, one of whom will be the chair. Each member serves a three-year term, rotating onto the committee as junior member, then becoming chair, and then exiting after serving a final year as senior member. The chair of the Gomory Prize Committee shall preside over the entire process.


2018 Book Prize Recipient

Fraud: An American HistoryEdward J. Balleisen, DukeUniversity
Fraud: An American History from Barnum to Madoff
Princeton University Press, 2017



2017 Book Prize Recipients

Margins of the MarketJohan Mathew, Rutgers University
Margins of the Market: Trafficking and Capitalism across the Arabian Sea
University of California Press, 2016



Destructive CreationMark R. Wilson, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
Destructive Creation: American Business and the Winning of World War II
University of Pennsylvania Press, 2016



2017 Book Prize Honorable Mention

Money Changes EverythingWilliam N. Goetzmann, Yale School of Management
Money Changes Everything: How Finance Made Civilization Possible
Princeton University Press, 2016




2016 Book Prize Recipient

Chapin book jacketChristy Ford Chapin, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Ensuring America's Health: The Public Creation of the Corporate Health Care System
Cambridge University Press, 2015



2015 Book Prize Recipients

Between Monopoly and Free TradeEmily Erikson, Yale University
Between Monopoly and Free Trade: The English East India Company, 1600-1757
Princeton University Press, 2014



American Synthetic Organic Chemicals IndustryKathryn Steen, Drexel University
The American Synthetic Organic Chemicals Industry: War and Politics, 1910-1930 
University of North Carolina Press, 2014



2014 Book Prize Recipient

ArMohun book jacketwen P. Mohun, University of Delaware
Risk: Negotiating Safety in American Society
Johns Hopkins University Press, 2012



2013 Book Prize Recipient

Shareholder Democracies book jacketMark Freeman, University of Glasgow, Robin Pearson, University of Hull, and James Taylor, University of Lancaster
Shareholder Democracies? Corporate Governance in Britain and Ireland before 1850
University of Chicago Press, 2012



2013 Book Prize Honorable Mention

Jennifer Anderson book jacketJennifer L. Anderson, SUNY-Stony Brook
Mahogany: The Costs of Luxury in Early America
Harvard University Press, 2012



2013 Article Prize Recipient


2012 Book Prize Recipient

Richard White book jacket

Richard White, Stanford University
Railroaded: The Transcontinentals and the Making of Modern America
W. W. Norton, 2011



2012 Book Prize Honorable Mentions

Colby book jacketJason M. Colby, University of Victoria
The Business of Empire: United Fruit, Race, and U.S. Expansion in Central America
Cornell University Press, 2011



Stern book jacketPhilip J. Stern, Duke University
The Company-State: Corporate Sovereignty and the Early Modern Foundations of the British Empire in India
Oxford University Press, 2011



2012 Article Prize Recipient

  • Gregg Mitman, University of Wisconsin-Madison, and Paul Erickson, Wesleyan University


2011 Book Prize Recipient

John book jacketRichard R. John, Columbia University
Network Nation: Inventing American Telecommunications
Harvard University Press, 2010



2011 Honorable Mention

JFichter book jacketames R. Fichter, Lingnan University
So Great a Proffit: How the East Indies Trade Transformed Anglo-American Capitalism
Harvard University Press, 2010



[No article prize was awarded in 2011.]